Love Birds Baby Quilt

Happy Friday!  Today I want to share with you a sweet baby quilt that I made as a gift for my BFF’s new grandbaby.  Our kids grew up together, and so her kids I treat as my own and vice versa.  It really is great to have such a special friend, and so OUR new grandbaby needed something special.

Just like the red fox quilt, this quilt also centered around a yard of fabric that I found and just had to have.  This fabric is by Deena Designs for Free Spirit.  Aren’t these cute little love birds just adorable?

DSC_0159

And then I just couldn’t bear to cut the fabric up.   I did manage to cut a 3-1/2 strip off of it for use on the front, to pull the front and the back of the quilt together, but the rest became a large block on the back of the quilt.

quilt back

I raided my stash for coordinating pink, green, and blue tone on tone fabrics.   I love this combination of pink and green and have used it before for other quilts.  First for a Mexican Rose quilt (pictured below).  This was the first quilt pattern I designed and it is still for sale on Etsy.  And then for a quilt that I made for my cousin’s baby (couldn’t find a picture of that quilt).

Mexican Rose

Mexican Rose

For this new baby quilt however, I needed to mix in some blues and brighter pink in with the green to match the love birds fabric.  Alternating 9″ blocks created a simple, modern baby quilt.  I just love how it turned out!

DSC_0152

The quilt finishes at 45″ square.  I quilted a simple curved design along all 4 edges of each square using a half-circle of cardboard as a template.

DSC_0050-002

And even though the quilt itself was finished when she was only a week old, I didn’t ship it off because I wanted to add a quilt label to it.  I have been trying to be more consistent with adding quilt labels to all quilts that I make.  But it is certainly a last minute thought, and not something I have already designed.  I am ashamed to say that I finally had the label made, attached to the quilt, and the quilt delivered when she turned 6 months old.  I need to automate this part of quilt making somehow.  5-1/2 months to make and attach a quilt label is quite ridiculous.  I did have a lot of other things going on though, so I’ll give myself a break.

baby quilt for Julie

Linking up with Finish it Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts, Needle and Thread Thursday at My Quilt Infatuation, Link a Finish Friday at Richard and Tanya, and Can I Get a Whoop Whoop at Confessions of a Fabric Addict.

16 thoughts on “Love Birds Baby Quilt

  1. Oh you’re right, that fabric is far too pretty to cut up and it makes a fabulous back – it’s a double A side quilt!!

Leave a comment