Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Greetings from Charleston.  I am traveling for work today and tomorrow and thought I would share this lovely sunset with you.

s

I have decided to enter a quilt in the fall Blogger’s Quilt Festival and I am squeaking it in at the last minute.

Blogger's quilt festival

I am entering Ellie the Elephant.  You may remember her from a post in May, but let me refresh your memory in case you don’t.

This quilt was designed around seven fat eighths of fabric from the Madrona Road line that I received for a challenge with the Triangle Modern Quilt Guild.  We had to make something with the fabric and we could only add other solids. I thought long and hard about what I wanted to make, I tried different layouts, and I finally heard the blue haystack speak to me saying that it wanted to be an elephant.  

2013-05-13

So Ellie the Elephant was born.  Isn’t she adorable?  You can visit my original blog post here.

DSC_0263-001

Since then she has spent more than 2 weeks at the North Carolina State Fair where she was viewed by tens of thousands of people and won 2nd place in the baby quilt division.  And later I hope to make a pink version and write up a pattern in the near future.

But in the meantime, hopefully she’ll pull out a win in the blogger’s quilt festival for me.  Head on over there and look at all the wonderful inspiration, if you haven’t already, and be sure to vote for your favorite quilt in each category.

http://amyscreativeside.com/2013/10/25/bloggers-quilt-festival-baby-quilts-2/

http://amyscreativeside.com/2013/10/25/bloggers-quilt-festival-fall-2013/

3 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival

  1. That quilt is so cute! I have a slight obsession with all things elephant. Also, I’m so jealous you’re in Charleston (even though it’s a work trip!). That’s one of my favorite places in the US!

Leave a Reply

